Basic Money Habits

Am sure that we can all agree that other than love, money is one of the most sensitive issues we have to deal with in our lives. Most of us are shielded from knowing what money really is, how to make it, spend it and above all, how to keep it. I have money problems to deal with, no need to deny it.

I recently finished reading the book, Money and Marriage by James Abola and Joy Mirembe. These are ordinary Ugandans, an ordinary couple who in their book highlight some of the most common money problems couples have to deal with, day in day out. I am not yet married, and I look forward to being someone’s wife but what this book has showed me is that my fairytale wedding or happily-ever-after is not going to be handed to me on a silver plate. It is up to me and my future husband to have certain disciplines in practice. Am I prepared for it? No! And I may still hold on to my fantasy for a bit. Am certain am not the only one. But there is work to be done.

This book is not the first financial literacy book I have read. Books like How to save money for Investment by Ken Monyoncho, Action Wealth System by Geoffrey Semaganda, Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki among others have found their way to me in the past. Amazing financial advise from some of the richest people in the world, friends who have made it and other motivational speakers. Great lessons there, practical solutions and a lot more for the reader/listener to take home and yet we still make mistakes with our money. Why is this so?

I cannot speak for you but I will share my experience. Growing up, having money was unacceptable. Why would a child want money, anyway? And the evil face they gave the idea of having money made things worse. If only they had told us that it was tough earning the money, and so we shouldn’t want to have it without earning it. And so, many times I settled for little pocket money when going to school. This only taught me to settle for just the basics. I only get money to buy what I need in that moment, nothing more. And today? It is a different story. Money is everywhere and yet scarce. I want it so bad, but I do not know how to look for it. And I am still told little is enough for me.

A few lessons I have learned so far, about money are;

1. It is okay to want it: You can desire for as much money as you want. It is acceptable, it is not a crime and it will not hurt anyone, not even you. No one should ever preach the gospel of Money is evil, it is so wrong. Money is a basic need. Without it, we can not do anything for ourselves. Every basic we need is acquired with money. So want as much.

2. Clean money: There are many ways of making money and people have made their choices over the years. Some ended up behind bars, others actually made it and others are just getting by. What’s the difference? What you choose to do to earn the money. Be it a job, or business, or even stealing, how honestly you invest yourself will determine how much you make. So choose the clean way, where you don’t leave a trail of enemies against your money.

3. Plan for it: Yes! Making it is not enough, because you can easily waste it. So you have to plan how you will spend it, how much you save and what you will reinvest.Yes, if you sit on money, it will dwindle. If you put it to work, it will multiply itself.

4. Save: Am learning that saving is not necessarily putting money in the bank but rather acquiring money generating assets. Robert Kiyosaki in his book, Rich Dad Poor Dad says; an asset is something that puts money in your pocket, and a liability is something that takes money out of your pocket. So check yourself.

5. Spend it: What’s money if you can’t spend it? I know we get very uptight when it comes to spending money but it has to move. I don’t mean careless spending. It could be donating some, buying essentials or getting those items you have always desired because you deserve it. After all you earned it. But I now know this: letting the money go, rightly, creates room for more. But storing it somehow repells the money away. Be a giver in order to be given more.

6. Love it: Yes! If you don’t love money, you can’t make it and you certainly will have a hard time earning it. What you love, you work on earnestly and honestly.What you dislike, you push away. So if you want more money, then love more money and get to work with the right mindset.

Break away from all the stereo types associated with money and wealth and you will enjoy abundance.

Let’s soar.

Leave a Reply

