Regrets

So the Gambian president emeritus conceded to defeat with a regret-packed acceptance speech. Ahhmmmm! Food for thought for leaders, and every one of us. One particular leader I deeply respect asked me a question as we discussed that speech.

What do YOU current regret?😏

I regret a lot of things; from actions not taken, feelings/opinions not expressed, adventures not explored, among many others. And as we shared, I had to open up about a whole lot of previously bottled up feelings and bitter experiences, and I realised something;

Society has come up with many sweet phrases and beliefs to nicely rub on those feelings of regret. We know them, sometimes, as stereotypes. One most annoying one is ‘You don’t need that’. A close relative recently threw it in my face, in reference to something nice I had bought myself. In his opinion, I didn’t need it, because I am ‘too young’ to have such luxuries. According to who?????

Thoughts like these have held so many people back from acting on their ideas, dreams or simply daring to act different. Well, this tickled me so much that I just had to voice it. 

I have personally felt so underachieved. I believe I could have hit more milestones earlier had I listened to my gut and acted on my thoughts and dreams. 

The one belief I embrace everyday is, ‘It’s never too late to start’. And I have quite a number of items to tick off my bucket list. No holding back. So over to you… 

What do YOU current regret?

Leave a Reply

